KTN Global Alliance in Strategic Partnership with UK Science and Innovation Network in US hosted a webinar on 8 June 2021 at 16:00 – 17:30 pm (BST) / 11:00 – 12:30 (EDT) for the UK research and business community working in dual-use technologies, products and services to understand better US export control laws to help enable collaboration with the US.

Webinar recording and slides are now available

Find the slides here.

While both US and UK export control regimes are broadly similar, the US system has traditionally been more restrictive and can add compliance costs to technology partnerships. Due to recent changes in US law, there is a new set of controls for emerging and foundational technologies. These technologies would be considered dual-use, and thus fall under a less restrictive regime than pure defence technology. Nevertheless, the draft list of technologies is quite broad and could include artificial intelligence and machine learning, robotics, quantum, big data, gene editing, and more. Therefore, many UK companies and research teams may now face US export controls where they did not before.

This webinar presented the findings of a report commissioned by the Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) and produced by Holland & Knight. The report addresses the changing US export control landscape and implications for UK entities. As a result of this webinar and report, we hope to provide practical advice that will increase the ability of UK companies to navigate US export control issues on dual-use technology.

View the report here.

Technology Envoy to the US and British Consul-General for San Francisco, Joe White MBE, provided opening remarks.

“The goal of this Guide is to reduce barriers to UK-US research and innovation collaboration by improving UK researchers and industry’s understanding of the U.S. export control regime and making the system easier to navigate.“

“Stay Positive—most importantly, don’t get discouraged. The US and UK share a very close relationship and generally exports to the UK are authorised.”

Draft Agenda - Eastern Time

  • 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST | Welcome & Introduction by Sandeep Sandhu, KTN & Karla Hagan British Embassy, Washington
  • 11:10 EDT / 16:10 BST | Foreword & Overview by Joe White MBE
  • 11:20 EDT / 16:20 BST | Findings from USA Export Control Regulations Report by Holland and Knight
  • 11:50 EDT / 16:50 BST | Q&A
  • 12:25 EDT / 17:25 BST| Closing Remarks – Nick Hooper British Consulate-General, Los Angeles

Speakers

  • Joe White MBE | HM Consul-General, San Francisco, and Technology Envoy to the USA Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO)
  • Ronald Oleynik | Partner, Holland and Knight
  • Antonia Tzinova | Partner, Holland and Knight