Partners in innovation: how UK-US research collaboration can drive the evolution of offshore wind for global net zero

To mark Energy Day at COP26 join KTN, Innovate UK and the National Offshore Wind Research and Development Consortium (NOWRDC) online as they showcase how US-UK resources are working together to harness the potential of Offshore Wind.

Event Details
When

04/11/2021

15.00 - 16.30

Where

Online

Share this event

4th November | 11:00-12:30 EDT

The benefits of tackling climate change are numerous and fundamentally in the interests of us all; amongst them: cleaner air, healthier communities, sustainable economic growth, energy security and a safer, more stable climate.

Webcast recording is now available

 

At COP26 in Glasgow, the UK is bringing parties together to accelerate action towards the goals of the Paris Agreement and the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change. But to meet the Paris Agreement goals, we must decarbonise the global economy three to five times faster over the coming decade than we have over the last two decades. For this we need both stronger national action, and stronger international and cross-sectoral collaboration, focussed on the practical challenges we all share. Only by working together can we accelerate the transition to global net zero at the pace required.

COP26 Energy Day will take place on 4 November 2021, bringing with it a focus on the global transition to clean power. In addition to addressing the urgent challenge of climate change, clean growth presents the most significant economic growth opportunity of the 21st century and will create employment in industries of the future. The cost of renewables and other low carbon technology has fallen far more than anticipated – according to IRENA, power generation costs for offshore wind fell by 29% between 2010 and 2019.

Harnessing the potential of offshore wind is a critical component of this transition and the US and UK are leading the way through ambitious commitments to deploy a combined additional 70 Gigawatts of offshore wind by 2030.

To mark Energy Day and showcase the power of partnerships and innovation in facilitating a clean energy transition, Innovate UK and the National Offshore Wind Research and Development Consortium (NOWRDC) are hosting a webinar to showcase the successful leveraging of US-UK resources for the purposes of offshore wind research and development. Through a fireside chat and interactive Q&A, experts from the UK and US will explore:

  • How government policies are creating the right environment to encourage new technology development to deliver offshore wind cost reduction and stimulate market growth in the US & UK;
  • How leveraging R&D resources can advance knowledge and innovation; and
  • The benefits of international collaboration, including the creation of new R&I partnerships and improved awareness and access to international markets.

About the partners

  • The National Offshore Wind Research and Development Consortium (the Consortium), established in 2018 as a not-for-profit public-private partnership, focuses on advancing offshore wind technology in the United States through high-impact research projects and cost-effective, responsible development to maximize economic benefits. The Consortium is dedicated to managing industry-focused research and development of offshore wind to maximize economic benefits for the United States.
  • Innovate UK is the UK’s innovation agency. Innovate UK works with people, companies and partner organisations to find and drive the science and technology innovations that will grow the UK economy – delivering productivity, new jobs and exports. Our aim at Innovate UK is to keep the UK globally competitive in the race for future prosperity.

Speakers

  • Roger Townsend, Innovation Lead – Renewables | Innovate UK
  • Jenny Hudson, Business Development Director | Transmission Dynamics
  • Peter Abbott | British Consul General Boston
  • Carrie Hitt, Executive Director | NOWRDC
  • David Newsam, Managing Director | Intelligent Moorings Ltd
  • Paul Fleming | NREL
  • Anthony Kirincich | WHOI

Agenda

  • 15:00 GMT (11:00 EDT) – Event Overview & COP26 Goals | Peter Abbott OBE | Her Majesty’s Consul General, British Consulate General Boston
  • 15:10 GMT (11:10 EDT) – Introducing our presenters | Roger Townsend | Innovation Lead – Energy, Innovate UK, Carrie Hitt | Executive Director, National Offshore Wind Research and Development Consortium
  • Projects – Jenny Hudson | JR Dynamics Ltd, David Newsam | Intelligent Moorings Ltd, Paul Fleming | NREL, Anthony Kirincich | WHOI
  • 15:15 GMT (11:15 EDT) – Fireside Chat
  • 15:55 GMT (11:55 EDT) – Audience Q&A
  • 16:10 GMT (12:10 EDT) – Final Remarks | Peter Abbott OBE, Her Majesty’s Consul General | British Consulate General Boston
  • 16:15 GMT (12:15 EDT) – Close