Rand Water Innovation Challenges - Online Launch and Q&A Session

Event Details
When

30/11/2022

10.00 - 12.00 GMT

Where

Online

Share this event

Watch the recording below

Click here to download the slides from the event.

 

Global Alliance Africa invite you to watch our recorded online launch of Rand Water’s Open Innovation Challenges specifically related to identifying solutions in Water Treatment Residue.

The goal of Global Alliance Africa’s Open Innovation intervention is to help African companies find innovative solutions to technical problems that their traditional supply chains cannot solve. We do this by promoting cross-sectoral innovation transfer from organisations beyond their usual supply chains.

Using Innovate UK KTN’s bespoke platform, we run Innovation Exchange Challenges to match real industry problems for large businesses with innovative companies or academic institutions who can provide novel, market ready solutions to those problems. Global Alliance Africa at Innovate UK KTN have partnered with Rand Water to find Circular Economy solutions to their water treatment residue challenges.

Rand Water, the largest water utility company in Africa, is based in South Africa and supplies drinking water to the Gauteng province and other areas of the country. They process and purify large volumes of water with one of their priorities to utilise circular economy thinking to encompass sludge beneficiation, waste beneficiation, water security and resiliency, and water reuse.

There are two Innovation Challenges available from Rand Water and they were launched in November 2022.

Global Alliance Africa are supporting Rand Water to:

Deadline to apply: 31st January 2023.

About the Event

This event will mark the formal launch of Rand Water’s Innovation Exchange Challenges and provide a Q&A session to participants. We are inviting potential solution providers to this webinar as an opportunity to learn more about the challenge areas.

Africa-based entrants, UK-based entrants and those from RoW are invited to apply.

The winner of these innovation challenges will pitch to Rand Water and will be invited to collaborate with them on a trial project.

Programme Agenda

10.00 GMT / 12:00 SAST – Welcome and Housekeeping
10.10 GMT / 12:10 SAST – Introduction to Global Alliance Africa and Open Innovation
10.20 GMT / 12:20 SAST – Introduction to Rand Water
10.30 GMT / 12:30 SAST – Rand Water Open Innovation challenges
10.50 GMT / 12:50 SAST – Q&A
11.20 GMT / 13:20 SAST – Next steps
11.30 GMT / 13:30 SAST – Close

Related Opportunities

Global Innovation Exchange Challenge: Accelerating the Concentration of Water Treatment Residue

Opens: 16/11/2022 Closes: 31/01/2023

This Innovation Exchange challenge, delivered by Innovate UK KTN through the Global Alliance Africa project, is supporting Rand Water to identify innovative solutions to accelerate the concentration of Water Treatment Residue (WTR).

More Information

Global Innovation Exchange Challenge: Innovative Solutions to Beneficiation of Water Treatment Residue

Opens: 16/11/2022 Closes: 31/01/2023

This Innovation Exchange challenge, delivered by Innovate UK KTN through the Global Alliance Africa project, is supporting Rand Water to identify innovative solutions for the utilisation of water treatment residue.

More Information
Babar Javed

Our Expert

Babar Javed

Read full profile

Related News

Global Alliance Africa at Innovate UK KTN partners with Rand Water to find Circular Economy solution to water treatment residue challenge

27/09/2022

Global Alliance Africa at Innovate UK KTN partners with Rand Water to find Circular Economy solution to water treatment residue challenge

In August 2022, Innovate UK KTN met with Rand Water to identify challenge areas for the launch of a joint Global Alliance Innovation Exchange (iX) challenge.

Read more
More News

Related programmes

Global Alliance Africa

Global Alliance Africa

Global Alliance Africa is a six-year project funded by UK Aid through Innovate UK (GCRF) and FCDO.

Close

Connect with Innovate UK KTN

Join the Innovate UK KTN's mailing list to receive updates on funding opportunities, events and to access IUK KTN’s deep expertise. Please visit your email to confirm your subscription and select your area(s) of interest.